The Good, The Bad, & The Ugly (A Slew of Reviews in One Post)

I’ve tried so many new products lately, I haven’t had the time or energy to write full-fledged reviews about all of them. But I still wanted to let you know which ones rocked and which ones stunk, so I’m combining several reviews into one post. You’ll find everything here, from makeup to skincare to haircare.

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion Professional Size: I got this on sale at Sephora for $20 (normally $30)–the same price as the standard Primer Potion. But this tube contains 150% of the original size’s product. Good deal. This really, truly is the best eye primer out there. It’s the only one I’ve ever tried that completely resists creasing and smudging, even after hours. It keeps shadows exactly where you apply them until you take off your makeup. Genius.

Garnier Fructis Sleek & Shine Moroccan Sleek Oil Treatment (approx. $5-6): I’m not one of those people who loooooves Moroccanoil. It’s ok, but it doesn’t transform my hair–but I still use it to nourish my ends and protect my strands from heat styling. This new product is Garnier’s version of Moroccanoil. I noticed no difference between the two, and guess what? I’ll be buying this $6 version from now on (even though the bottle is huge, and it’ll probably last me forever). (Image via drugstore.com)

Josie Maran Argan Illuminizer ($28): This is an excellent highlighter. It’s a creamy nude base with a slightly pink pearl. I’ve been mixing it with my BB cream to give my complexion a pretty glow. You can also use it as a highlighter on the high points of your face (cheekbones, brow bones, etc.) if you want to accent certain features. I really like this — a lot. (Image via Sephora)

There’s a whole lot more (6 more reviews) after the jump.

YSL Faux Cils Mascara ($30): I reviewed this mascara years ago, but I’ve recently fallen in love with it all over again. It effortlessly lengthens, volumizes, and defines for lush lashes in under one minute. Flirty, feminine, and pretty lashes. (Image via Sephora)

Tarte Pure Maracuja Oil ($46): I requested a deluxe sample of this before I committed to purchasing it. I applied it before bedtime and let it soak in overnight. My skin is very dry this time of year, and in the morning, it felt baby soft. I like it a lot, and it has about a billion uses for your skin. (I used it to shave my legs.) (Image via Sephora)

Make Up For Ever HD Microfinish Blush in Walk of Shame ($26): First thing I noticed about this blush was that you need so very, very little in order to get a good flush on your cheeks. I used waaay too much the first time and ended up looking like a clown. Once you realize how pigmented this blush is, it’s super easy to work with. It’s blendable, buildable, and leaves behind a long-lasting stain-like blush that lasts for hours. This was described as a bubblegum pink color, but it’s more of a soft pale pink on my skin.

Maybelline The Colossal Volum Express Cat Eyes Mascara (approx. $7): Full disclosure: I bought this solely for the fact that there was a LEOPARD on the display at Target. So of course it had my name all over it. This mascara is good, but there’s one caveat: I feel like it’s falsely marketed. The mascara claims to give you cat eyes, with lashes that are winged out at the edges. And while that’s true, you have to apply it a certain way (by swiping the mascara from root to tip toward the outer corners) to get that effect–and really, any mascara applied that way would give you the same effect. So while this is a good mascara, it won’t give you any more of a cat-eye lash than any other mascara would when applied in the same manner. (Image via luuux.com)

Sephora Instant Moisturizer ($20): This is thick, creamy, and feels comforting on the face. I have sort of sensitive skin (but overly sensitive), and I didn’t have any issues with this. It was hydrating and did the job. I wasn’t bowled over by it, though; I’ve tried better and probably will not repurchase. One thing I do like about it: it smells great! I’m usually not crazy about scented face moisturizers, but this one smells fresh and clean and it’s kind of nice. (Image via Sephora)

So, that’s everything. I’ve saved a couple more reviews on products that I’m dying to tell you about, which I’ll get to in full after the Thanksgiving holiday. In the meantime, what are some products you’ve tried recently that you’ve loved or hated? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a comment